Spurs Hire WNBA’s Becky Hammon As Assistant Coach

spursbecky

ESPN – Veteran WNBA player Becky Hammon is joining the reigning NBA champion San Antonio Spurs’ coaching staff.

The Spurs made the announcement Tuesday. Terms of the contract were not revealed.

Hammon, who is currently in her 16th WNBA season, announced July 23 that she would retire as a player at the end of the 2014 season.

“I very much look forward to the addition of Becky Hammon to our staff,” Spurs coach Gregg Popovich said in a statement Tuesday. “Having observed her working with our team this past season, I’m confident her basketball IQ, work ethic and interpersonal skills will be a great benefit to the Spurs.”

Hammon is not the first woman hired to be an NBA assistant. Lisa Boyer, now associate head women’s basketball coach at South Carolina, served on John Lucas’ staff in Cleveland in the 2001-02 season.

When Hammon’s 15th WNBA season was derailed because of a knee injury, she was invited by Popovich to attend his team’s practices.

Popovich was asked in May whether women can coach men’s players, and he replied, “I don’t see why not. There shouldn’t be any limitations. It’s about talent and the ability to do things. It’s not about what your sex is or your race or anything else.”

Named one of the WNBA’s top 15 players of al-time in July 2011, Hammon ranks seventh in WNBA history in points (with 5,809), fourth in assists (1,687) and sixth in games (445).

A six-time WNBA All-Star, Hammon has spent the last eight seasons with the San Antonio Stars. She is their all-time leader in assists (1,112) and three-point field goals made (493) while ranking second in franchise history in points (3,442) and games (218). In 2012 Hammon was the top vote getter for the Stars All-Decade Team.

The Spurs hired European coaching legend Ettore Messina to join Popovich’s staff earlier this summer.

In my head, I’m kind of imagining the Spurs locker room looks a little bit like Ed’s office in Anchorman when the news team is yelling at him for hiring Veronica Corningstone.. like I know that’s not even close, and they’re all probably patting Becky Hammon on the back and welcoming her.. but that’s no fun..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k72f0JFl-7o

I can just hear Tim Duncan screaming “IT’S TERRIBLE! SHE HAS BEAUTIFUL EYES AND HER HAIR SMELLS LIKE CINNAMON!” and Tiago Splitter warning Pop that he read somewhere that bears can smell the menstruation, “That’s just great.. You hear that, Pop? Bears. Now you’re putting the whole team in jeopardy.”

On a serious note though.. my first thought after reading this article was “how in the world is this going to work?” Is that bad? Like, I’m all for breaking down gender norms, I’m all for equality.. and if Pop okayed this move, it has to be a good one, because I mean he doesn’t often miss. I just can’t help but feel a little uneasy about it though.. and don’t for a second think that I’m being sexist.. I feel just as weird about Geno Auriemma coaching the Lady Huskies. Wait.. is it sexist that I think that? Am I being sexist? Damn it.

Also, after doing a little sleuth work google image search, I think I might be attracted to Becky Hammon..

She’s actually got it all..

She’s sexy

becky hammon

Sassy

becky sassy

Funny

becky funny

Has an A+ smile

becky smile

Passionate

Becky Hammonbecky hammon 3

 

And just super cute..

AHHH I can’t stand it!! She’s soo diabolically hot! Way too hot to coach on an NBA Basketball team.

I’m not going to lie here.. this post went in an entirely different direction than I anticipated.. that being said.. wouldn’t have to change the name much if we got married.. Becky Hammon.. Becky Hannon.. tamatoes / tomatoes

