Tupac’s Last Words Are So Tupac.. Wouldn’t Expect Anything Less

BUZZFEED – Chris Carroll, a retired Las Vegas Police Department sergeant, was the first officer on scene following the drive-by shooting of Tupac Shakur on Sept. 7, 1996.

Shakur would die six days later from his injuries, but before he slipped into a coma, Carroll was holding the gravely wounded hip-hop star as he uttered his last words. Now, 18 years later, Carroll reveals those words for the first time.

Carroll recounted the dramatic moment to Vegas Seven:

He went from fighting to “I can’t do it.” And when he made that transition, he looked at me, and he’s looking right in my eyes. And that’s when I looked at him and said one more time, “Who shot you?”

He looked at me and he took a breath to get the words out, and he opened his mouth, and I thought I was actually going to get some cooperation. And then the words came out:


















20140524-162243-58963552.jpg

Gotta love Tupac’s last words. Gotta. Carroll, you actually thought you were going to get some cooperation from a dying Tupac Shakur?? Yeah fucking right!! That guy was ride or die “fuck the po-lice” to the grave.

I would have killed to have been on the scene, officer Carroll holding Tupac gently, asking him “Who shot you?? Who shot you??” Trying to help.. And Pac just mustering up enough energy for some dying words, everybody just hanging on his every breath, just to hear him say “Fuck You.” Officer Carroll’s like “Ahh damn it! He got me! Should have seen that one coming.”

You know why I love this? Because those were the last words of a dying breed. Drake would have been like “It was Chris Brown!! Everybody listen to my last words!! It was Chris Brown!! He’s the one that shot me!! Find him! He’s the one you should be looking for!!” There isn’t one rapper I can think of who would say fuck you to a cop, who would waste the last words of his entire life saying “Hey remember when I said I hated police in my rap songs? That was because I hate police for real.”

